2018 NSW Environment Awards

The NSW Environment Awards celebrate the outstanding commitment and achievement of campaigners, grassroots environmentalists and conservation groups across the state.

The 2018 awards will be presented by Elizabeth Farrelly on the evening of Saturday, 20 October 2018, at 107 Projects in Redfern. To attend the awards please register here. Attendance at the Environment Awards is also included in your Annual Conference registration. 

You can read about each of the awards and nominate someone below. Nominations close on the 28th of September. 

Dunphy Award

This award is given to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to the conservation of the NSW Environment, and courageously challenged Government and non-Government decision-makers, in honour of Myles and Milo Dunphy. Myles Dunphy (1891-1985) campaigned for national parks and wilderness in NSW and Myles’ son, Milo (1928-1996) led the fight to preserve the Colong Caves and the Kanangra-Boyd wilderness. 

 To nominate someone go to https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/SRLQ5VL 

Ziggy Megne Volunteer for the Environment Award

NCC acknowledges and appreciates the valuable contributions made by countless volunteers in a broad range of capacities in past and present environmental campaigns and efforts to make our world a more sustainable place. The Ziggy Megne Volunteer for the Environment Award celebrates these unsung heroes. The award is given to the most outstanding and inspiring individual who has voluntarily contributed his or her time for the cause of conservation and the environment over the past year. 

To nominate someone go to https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/F9H5MT3 

Allen Strom Hall of Fame Award

NCC's Hall of Fame was established in memory of the late Allen Strom’s untiring dedication to conservation and education in NSW. Individuals for this award have been actively involved in the conservation movement for many years, have made a constant and invaluable contribution to the environment and have displayed qualities of integrity, reliability and commitment. 

To nominate someone go to https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/FDKWBZ3

Marie Byles Award

This award celebrates a group which has initiated an outstanding new environmental campaign, launched in the last 12 months, and has demonstrated strong commitment and passion for the conservation of the NSW environment, in honour of Marie Byles. Marie Byles (1900-1979), the first female solicitor in NSW and a passionate bushwalker, conservationist, explorer, mountaineer and feminist. 

To nominate someone go to https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/FDVNYRM

Nature Conservation Council Member Group Award

This award is given to a Member Group of NCC which has demonstrated outstanding commitment and success in the conservation of the NSW environment. 

To nominate someone go to https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/FD93QSF

Rising Star Award

This award is given to a young individual under the age of 30, who has demonstrated outstanding effort and commitment to the conservation of the NSW environment. 

To nominate someone go to https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/FDCLCYZ